Library Advisory Commission

The Fourth Amendment to the Joint Powers Agreement between the City of Santa Cruz, the County of Santa Cruz, and the Cities of Capitola and Scotts Valley, relating to Library Services, was approved in December 2015. Section 5B of the agreement states that “the Governing Board shall be advised by a Library Advisory Commission.” The Commission is advisory only and is intended to be a voice of the community to provide advice and feedback to the Governing Board and Director of Libraries.

The Commission meets quarterly to develop recommendations to the Governing Board on the Library System hours, organization and services, and will prepare an annual report for consideration by the Governing Board. The Commission is governed by the requirements of the Ralph M. Brown Act.

 Commissioners must be registered voters and are appointed as follows: 

  1. Three residents of unincorporated Santa Cruz County with one each appointed from Supervisorial Districts 1, 2, and 5.
  2. Two Santa Cruz City residents appointed by the Santa Cruz City Council.
  3. One Capitola resident appointed by the Capitola City Council.
  4. One Scotts Valley resident appointed by the Scotts Valley City Council.

Additional information and Library Advisory Commission Bylaws are available here.